My First Popiah

In Malacca I had my first popiah. I had no idea what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. There were a couple of stalls selling them at the Jonker Street night market. This was the first night of three that the night market would be open, so we went easy and just got a couple of snacks. Usually when we go to browse around a night market we always end up with way too much food, since we really want to try everything the market has to offer.

Popiah is made like a crepe or a burrito, but have a filling that is much more like a salad. It is usually made of grated turnip, some other vegetables and topped with chopped peanuts and sauce. Everything is then rolled in a pancake-like wrapper. I really liked it. It had a fresh quality to it that is a nice break from all the woked and fried dishes.Popiah vendor at Jonker Street Night Market, Melaka, Malaysia.Popiah.

5 thoughts on “My First Popiah

    • Sorry to make you miss home. 🙂
      Ah, yes I have tried pie tee. I usually end up eating the leftover crumbles, since my youngest one loves them.
      Nice blog by the way.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Food Hunt | The Pictureteller | Southeast Asia 2014/2015

Leave a Reply

